Descending Mt. Pagangon To Hindang Falls


While I’m writing this blog right at this moment, I’m being bombarded with ear-splitting karaoke fest. I won’t deny that some can sing while others still don’t know the destructive dissonance they have that’s rattling my thoughts into a pulp. Cranking up the volume and echo effect would only make things worst for my ears to bear but I have to try at least jot something and take this situation as a jump off point for this blog so I can start writing no matter how off-topic this may seem.

Well, Iligan is celebrating the Diyandi Festival and it is Leia’s mom’s birthday today too hence the karaoke party. Only Ann2x (Leia’s younger sister) can really sing well, the rest are good to okay to outright devastatingly off-tuned enough to wake the dead. Let me gather my disoriented brain cells together and pull this through. Writing a blog in the midst of sonic mayhem is quite challenging, but not as challenging as going down a steep mountain side while raining. Yeah, I know I’m trying to connect A with X but, so what. I have to write this fast because the next adventure will be coming in the next few days.

Okay, so I’ll start right after we started to climb out from Hindang Cave. For those who haven’t read about our Hindang Cave spelunking, here’s the blog.

Okay, the stuff I just wrote above was a little over 2 months ago (and my last edit was on the 29th of September to be precise). It’s already December 3 and I apologize for the delay. I’ve been quite busy again but we did had some more great adventures none the less after Hindang. I have come to realize that I might not be able to write long blog posts especially with a mountain of backlogs I’m still carrying with me from all the way back to 2012. Starting today or tonight, I’ll be writing short blog posts instead.

Anyway, about our descend… it was pretty darn hard. Yes, because it rained and made the narrow pathway slippery like clay mud. One of our companion was even praying and repenting as if it was the end of the world. At times, we had to go “5×5” meaning crawl on all fours including our butts in a sitting position.

GOPR3721-2 GOPR3727-2 GOPR3732-2 GOPR3736-2 GOPR3739-2 GOPR3752-2

Finally, we all made it down safely with minor bumps and scratches but no big deal. Good thing there were some lanzones and marang fruit waiting for us to replenish our famished state. The fruits were actually cheap here like more than 50% compared to the prices in the city.

IMG_9822 IMG_9824 IMG_9830 IMG_9832 IMG_9838 IMG_9864 IMG_9875

Our next stop was Hindang falls. A beautiful 3 tiered waterfall which is easily accessible from the road probably like a 10-15 minute trek.

IMG_9895 IMG_9897 IMG_9898 IMG_9899 IMG_9902 IMG_9905 IMG_9916 IMG_9934 IMG_9937

In reality, the base of the 2nd tier (top of the 1st tier) is the most accessible and the most logical place to take a dip. It has a much bigger pool while the 3rd tier is quite a challenge to get there (you’ll see it in the video).The 2nd tier by the way may look small (because of the perspective I guess) but it is probably about 30 feet tall from top to base. The 3rd tier of Hindang falls only has a small shallow pool but the falls is probably taller than the rest of the tiers and a great place to get a good shower.

GOPR3794-2 GOPR3796-2 GOPR3801-2 GOPR3802-2 GOPR3803-2

Travel time between Hindang proper to Hindang falls is probably about 20 minutes or less. You’ll pass by Hindang Falls first before you get to enter Hindang proper or the village.

Again, here’s my blog for the Hindang Cave in Mt. Pagangon where you will know how far Hindang is from Iligan proper.

Please check out our Hindang video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDat2W1A8bk

Thanks!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Iligan City, Travel, trekking, waterfalls

Leave a Reply

