Gina’s BBQ Xpress


Gina's BBQ Express 2

Gina’s BBQ Xpress in my opinion is now the king (or rather queen) of BBQ in Iligan City. Well, for me their BBQ is the best in town and last night (yep, last night Sept 18, 2013), me and Leia got invited for a taste test because they offered a number of new dishes on the menu. They also transferred to a new place which is just right in front of their old location (right across the street) and last night was their 2nd night opening.

Oh yeah, their pork barbeque is really super good plus their liempo (pork belly), pork chorizo, chicken pecho and grilled bangus is also a must try. Last night though was kind of a special night because they introduced two of the most favorite pinoy dishes that are especially good with beer (though I rarely drink even just a bottle these days) – Pork Sisig and Lechon Kawali. Yup these two are the new dishes on the menu plus the GBX fried chicken (fried chickens are everywhere) also.

Basically the three dishes were still on the testing stage so our (and other close friends) feedbacks were particularly important to improve their dishes. Oh, did I mention that Gina (the owner, hence the name) is actually a cousin of Leia? I guess not, so without further ado, here are the goods that filled my stomach to new width:

(btw, don’t mind my watermark – I’ll explain at the bottom of this post why it’s yobzleia 2012)

Gina's BBQ Express Food

DSC_1382

The Classic Pork Barbeque and Gina’s Barbeque is perhaps the best in town.

DSC_1384

Grilled Bangus – if you want to get a break from pork and chicken

DSC_1388

Pork Chorizo – Nomnom!!!

DSC_1390

Atchara – pickled unriped papaya which is my fave side dish for grilled dishes

DSC_1391

GBX Fried Chicken – A bit more salt then this one is a winner too.

DSC_1392

Lechon Kawali (Deep Fried Pork Belly) – best paired with Mang Tomas Sauce

DSC_1394

Lechon Kawali – up close and personal

DSC_1396

Fried Chicken – Everybody’s party staple

DSC_1409

Pork Steak – with creamy gravy

DSC_1421

Sizzling Pork Sisig – a Pinoy delicacy!!!

DSC_1424

Isaw – grilled chicken intestine, our fave too! Yum!

DSC_1433

Chop Suey – to balance the meaty diet, I love it!

DSC_1399

Imagine all the food we had in that table… miracle!!!

DSC_1430

from left to right – Mary (Gina’s younger sis), me, Leia, LJ and Gina

Gina's BBQ Express Deco

The subtle deco you’ll find in milky tea shops here surprisingly seems to compliment well with the overall interior design.

So there you have it, if you’re looking for some grilled dishes or barbeque to go with your beer or dinner then Gina’s BBQ Express would be the first place I would recommend you to check out. Oh and one more thing, I also enjoyed the cooler which is an orange juice with apple and mango tidbits.

You won’t miss Gina’s BBQ Xpress along Quezon Avenue Extension (road going to the Strip, City hall, City Hospital and Vmart) besides DTI.

For more information, you could Like their FB page at: https://www.facebook.com/GINASBBQXPRESS

P.S.

This post is not a backlog, but because it’s been like a year that I posted a blog about food/food joint, I totally FORGOT that I used my outdated watermark (yobzleia2012). Somehow it didn’t register, and I just realized my mistake when I was about to finish this blog. I thought of changing the watermarks, but it seems easier for me to write a note instead than take down all the photo uploads to change all the watermarks on each photos. Yup, I almost slapped my face. Argghhhhh! Oh well, I hope you enjoy my first food blogpost in a long time!

6 Comments

Filed under food, Iligan City, restaurant

6 responses to “Gina’s BBQ Xpress

  1. carl

    sarap naman ng pagkain jan.

  2. Oh my gosh! You had a feast! Everything looks so yummy!

  3. waaahh. lami-a ani master oi.! Great post! 🙂

Leave a comment