Nuak’s Pinoy Food Delicacies.


There are mainly three things that I really love to write. Mix martial artsfood and everything else in between, but most of my blogs are about FOOD!  Let’s face it; food is the answer to world peace. If you see children fighting over a piece of chicken inasal, that’s where all the world conflict starts from: at the table!

I’m not really a 100% food blogger per se, but I realized blogging about food has its perks. You get to have loads of excuses to eat any of your favorite Pinoy dishes anytime without having to worry about Body Mass Index or BMI for short. Pinoy food has always been a passion for me, since I learned how to shove food in my mouth. It will always be a lifelong passion, even if I lost all my teeth because of it.

Today, me and my girlfriend went to this popular mini restaurant NUAK in Iligan City that serve’s mostly Filipino dishes.

Here’s what we had for lunch:

Food with geometrical appeal or whatever that means. Hehe

1. Filipino Pork Sisig!

My all time Nuak favorite: Pork Sisig!

For starters, Pork Sisig is made from hog cheeks, nose and ears that are cooked in three phases: boiled, broiled and then fried and sauteed with garlic and onions. It is usually served on a sizzling plate with chillies’ and a fresh egg on top of the Sisig.

You might protest that something is missing in the picture. True, it is not served on a sizzling plate, but because Nuak’s frequent costumers are students, Nuak has to downsize its Sisig to make it affordable for students on a budget and on the go.

Nonetheless, minus the sizzle and smoke, Nuak’s Sisig gastronomically tasted good.

2. Papait!

Papait or Papaitang Kambing!

For the uninitiated, it has a hint of bitterness hence the name Papait which comes from the word “Pait” or bitter. Papait is a bittersweet Pinoy delicacy and one of my favorites.

3. Ampalaya with Egg

Ampalaya with Egg!

The purpose of the egg is actually to help lessen the bitter taste of Ampalaya. Ampalaya is actually very healthy that is why despite its bitter taste, we Pinoys found a way to make it delectable.

4. Sinugbang Baboy

Sinugbang Baboy or Grilled Pork!

Believed to be a panacea for drunkenness, loneliness and heartbreaks or at least in my imagination, Sinugbang Baboy can truly bring that sweet smile again to most Pinoys. I’m no drunkard, lonely or heartbroken, but I love Sinugbang Baboy!

Here’s me about to gorge in.

Am I so enthusiastic or what? Haha

It is so obvious that we Filipinos’ have a penchant for eating regardless of dish size. Whether it’s a full-size adult Lechon Baboy sprawling at the table or a measly sized saucer of Papaitan Kambing staring at me, Pinoy food is the best among the best, and that I believe makes me THE ULTIMATE SOOO PINOY BLOGGER! ^_^

2 Comments

Filed under food, Iligan City

2 responses to “Nuak’s Pinoy Food Delicacies.

  1. Yum everything looks so good!

  2. Pingback: Trekking the Enervating Trail of Mount “Gulugod Baboy” | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

Leave a Reply

